AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia Earns NCQA Multicultural Health Care Distinction for 3rd Consecutive Term

Multicultural Health Care recognizes organizations that lead the market in providing culturally and linguistically sensitive services, and working to reduce health care disparities

August 17, 2021 - Washington, D.C.

Washington, D.C. — AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia, a Medicaid managed care plan serving the District of Columbia and part of the AmeriHealth Caritas Family of Companies, announced that for the 3rd consecutive term it has earned Multicultural Health Care Distinction from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA). AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia is one of six AmeriHealth Caritas Medicaid managed care health plans to hold Multicultural Health Care Distinction.

AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia offers the following services, among others, to serve the diverse needs of its membership:

  • Virtual workouts, nutrition classes, and cooking to serve members during the COVID-19 pandemic. These include strategies to help members prepare culturally appropriate meals that positively impact their chronic or acute health conditions.
  • Targeted outreach to Spanish- and Amharic-speaking members for participation in the health plan’s Member Wellness Advisory Council (MWAC) and various health promotion programs.
  • Collaboration with community-based organizations to provide nutrition and wellness programs in languages other than English.
  • Annual analyses of network providers to help ensure they meet the cultural needs of members.

“Health equity lies at the nexus of data, cultural competency, fairness and human compassion. And it is framed by our collective history,” said Karen Dale, market president for AmeriHealth Caritas District of Columbia. “We remain committed to building healthier, safer communities for all District residents, and we also are equally committed to being culturally responsive and discovering ways that we can further innovate around the needs of the people we serve.”

NCQA awards distinction to organizations that meet or exceed its rigorous requirements for multicultural health care. The Multicultural Health Care program evaluates how well an organization complies with standards for the following areas:

  • Collection of race, ethnicity and language data.
  • Provision of language assistance.
  • Cultural responsiveness.
  • Quality improvement of culturally and linguistically appropriate services.
  • Reduction of health care disparities.

“The prevalence of racial and ethnic disparities has been a barrier to improving the quality of health care of many Americans for too long,” said NCQA President Margaret E. O’Kane. “Organizations achieving Multicultural Health Care Distinction are leaders in closing this gap, and NCQA commends them for their dedication.”

NCQA is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving health care quality. NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. It also recognizes clinicians and practices in key areas of performance. NCQA’s Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS®) is the most widely used performance measurement tool in health care. NCQA’s website ( contains information to help consumers, employers and others make more informed health care choices. NCQA can be found online at, on Twitter @ncqa, on Facebook at and on LinkedIn at